Dirk Pitt Series

In 1973, Clive Cussler released his first book – The Mediterranean Caper. This was also the start of the Dirk Pitt series that now contains more than 20 novels and several New York Times bestsellers.

The series follows Pitt’s adventures as part of NUMA (National Underwater and Marine Agency), discovering shipwrecks and battling against villains who are seeking to take over the world or cause problems on a global scale.

On this page we’ve produced a complete list of Dirk Pitt novels in order by the date they were published. The exception to this is the story Pacific Vortex! – the reason for this is noted in the list below.

The title of each book links to a special page for that particular release that has the following details:

  • Its release date
  • Where applicable, the name of the co-author (Cussler had co-authors from Valhalla Rising onwards)
  • A description of the story
  • The book’s cover image
  • A link to the story on Amazon so that you can read reviews or get a copy

To see how these Dirk Pitt books fit in with all his other stories, check out our complete list of Clive Cussler’s books in order.

Dirk Pitt Series In Order

  1. Pacific Vortex! (Although published after Night Probe!, Pacific Vortex! is chronologically set before The Mediterranean Caper)
  2. The Mediterranean Caper
  3. Iceberg
  4. Raise The Titanic!
  5. Vixen 03
  6. Night Probe!
  7. Deep Six
  8. Cyclops
  9. Treasure
  10. Dragon
  11. Sahara
  12. Inca Gold
  13. Shock Wave
  14. Flood Tide
  15. Atlantis Found
  16. Valhalla Rising
  17. Trojan Odyssey
  18. Black Wind
  19. Treasure Of Khan
  20. Arctic Drift
  21. Crescent Dawn
  22. Poseidon’s Arrow
  23. Havana Storm
  24. Odessa Sea
  25. Celtic Empire